Regarding MACHINE MENTALITY

Posted: September 18, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It funny that I was reading an article in the current issue of Popular Woodworking yesterday in the waiting room, I had to take my wife to an Urgent Care for an illness, that did a fair job of talking about the very same issue. Hand tools compliment power tools. I should have used this as I did, still do quite a bit, a lot of woodworking and that is exactly what I did. I used all the modern tools and to make the parts match the old furniture I used hand tools to give the look and feel of the old work. This is the same that we do today with Blacksmith tools and I guess that is a way to look at it. While machines and the machine mentality replaced the old ways, we can still use hand tools and hand techniques to compliment the look and feel of the work we do today.

This is not said without acknowledging you need a customer to pay for the extra work, but never the less, there is a difference when you look at the work finished by hand versus a fabrication or mixture of fabrication and pieces made using blacksmithing processes.

I have to laugh because I found an easy way to distinguish the Machine mentality and Hand mentality in my previous vocation and hobby. I doubt that this encompasses the entire thought process that Peter Ross was talking about, but in my mind it simplifies it and keeps us away from the modern vs. traditional debate, which Peter Ross was never talking about though everyone seems to want to direct the discussion down that path.

Hand tools and hand processes compliment machines and machinery processes to effect a look and feel of hand worked ironwork.

Of course this doesn’t take into account the processes of working by hand, but that’s the point that we didn’t grow up thinking that way.

Let me know if this helps to clarify what I think Peter is getting at. I will be posting a project that I completed recently as a gift that I hope you will enjoy reading and looking at.

See ya at the Forge!

Leave a Reply

