Happy Haven Forge Albania Ready or Not!!

Posted: May 3, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Hi Guys

We were having trouble finding freestanding toilet paper holders that we liked so I made one. The steps for making it are different for me than making it in a coal forge. Size limitations of the forge made me have to really rethink the way I am working. I saw a video of Francis Whitaker at some conference talking about working. He said to keep the work as straight as you can and as small as you can for as long as you can. Now at the time, like most things, I was thinking what the heck is he talking about.  FW learned how to do things at the anvil without a welder  with mechanical connections. Ahhh, it all begins to make sense now that I have to work in a smaller area.

Base being cleaned up

Base being cleaned up

Top before clean up

Top before clean up

    I didn’t think far enough ahead to make it in one piece. That’s the rethinking part I have to do to make things with the gas forge. So I resigned to having to weld them together. Since it was a piece that we actually needed I used my arc welder. I have to find flux to use. I do have all that useless rod, but the flux on it is no good that’s the problem, maybe if I grind it up and put some shavings into it. I will have to try that. Well when I make my next one it will be nicer in several ways. Then I can give this one away. Hahaha.

Still needs a coat of clear and its all ready to start work.

Still needs a coat of clear and its all ready to start work.

Base Leaf Detail

Base Leaf Detail cleaned up

As you can see the shop needs a lot of work and is in need of some basic tooling at this point. The vise’s location will be to the right of the anvil. There is plenty of room there. I also have room for a coal forge to the left of the anvil and will relocate the gas forge if and when I get one. I forget if I mentioned, but the shop is about 17 feet wide and 22 feet long, height is about 8’4” and like I said there are the windows to hang stuff out of if needed.  I just realized this table looks crooked in the photo, it isn’t.

As you can see the shop needs a lot of work and is in need of some basic tooling at this point. The vise’s location will be to the right of the anvil. There is plenty of room there. I also have room for a coal forge to the left of the anvil and will relocate the gas forge if and when I get one. I forget if I mentioned, but the shop is about 17 feet wide and 22 feet long, height is about 8’4” and I can always pass them through the window if needed.

HHF Albania - 4-30-13

HHF Albania – 4-30-13

I have to cut my anvil stump by about 2 inches or put it on a new one. I am thinking I will use the round bending hole in the horn and it would be nice to use the other flat horn (?) if needed. Currently it is either or, or neither. The dilemmas!

The new vise will be on a base and that is braced against the wall. That needs to be done before my next project for sure. I am finishing the work table off with sheet metal so that I can grind without worrying about burning through the top. While the top is about a 1-1/4” thick it is three pieces of MDF screwed together. Nice and flat, reinforced underneath, but will burn after a while. I know this from past experience. The bench is made from materials replaced during renovation of the wife’s family home. Most of the beams and supports go back to the early 1800’s when the tower was build. The boards and beams are chestnut. I wish I had my old woodshop I could be making some furniture. Flashback…okay I am back to today.  The small vise will be used at the table.

   The Forge sits on a stout table top covered with sheet metal. One end is resting on the window sill and there are overly stout legs on the other end. I might use them for the new anvil or vise base. Remodeling already. J  That’s the problem with doing things on the cheap. Hahaha. Those legs are some of the same chestnut, very nice really.

   This photo shows part of the pile of supports and beams discarded. Some of this is and more will be cut up for firewood. No one other than me seems to have an interest in it here. We will see – there is no rush to clean it up and that will give me time to think of ways to use it.

Renovation wood debris pile - mostly chestnut.

Renovation wood debris pile – mostly chestnut.

    I have not had any luck finding decent 7018 rod for the anvil repair. The Turkish rod I purchased is good for nothing. I re-baked it, but still no better and certainly wouldn’t use it for my Anvil repair. So the search goes on. I have a shop looking for it. I told them only ESAB brand. It is available here and the other brands are different Turkish ones. I will pay a little more for the peace of mind. In the States I have used all different brands with success. When I needed to do a special job I would purchase Cronatron, to expensive for me to use for any old thing. $10/lb- that adds up fast compared to $1.20/lb.

Turkish welding rod - not much luck with this brand

Turkish welding rod – not much luck with this brand

Things are moving forward, I was talking to our plumber Paulin and he tells me that charcoal is not a problem and I should be able to find a forge. I told him I will give him a call in the near future. He said gas is expensive! I agree. It also makes me have to work smaller than I am used to, which means I am apt to make several miscalculations along the way. I hoping the experience will make me work smarter. Time will tell.

It seems that I have misplaced my touchmark and my stamp set during the move to our apartment. Will have to replace them at some point.

Well until next time… I’ll see ya at the Forge! Happy Haven Forging, Albanian Style!

Vince

Comments
  1. swordsmithvs says:

    Hey things are coming together for you and that’s great! I am sorry it’s so slowly and with so many potholes along the way! Right now I am gathering tools!

  2. happyhavenforge says:

    Thanks Swordsmithvs

  3. It’s the hunt that makes the game taste sweeter mate.

  4. It will be sweet in the end –

Leave a Reply

