Next Projects

Posted: May 18, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Hi Guys,

Well my anvil has lots of quirks that I have to learn to work around until I find a decent rod to weld it up with. I do have a section where there is a decent rounded edge and some flat on the angle of a slight swayback. Of course the swayback makes straightening out a bar easier. hahaha. I finished mounting my vise and am happy with the results. The braces will also serve as a tong rack for the time being. I will make one for the wall later. Of course right now I only have 6 sets of tongs with me, 1/2″ and under. I will make a bigger one when the time comes.

Forge with support for longer pieces

Forge with support for longer pieces

I have added my security bars as recommended by the wife’s cousins. I used some of the old ones from the house. They are mounted on the inside which allows me to have windows that swing open to the outside and capture as much fresh air as possible.

Small Towel holder for Bidet

Small Towel holder for Bidet

The gas forge is very different for me. I made a small towel holder for the wall, I guess you could use it for TP if you wanted to also, regardless. Even this small item I had to think about how it would be made so that it fit into the forge up until it was finished. Without realizing it, this was a good 2nd project that provided good training using the smaller forge and  I was able to do it all in one piece. I never realized how different using a gas forge is until now.

Towel holder finished and clear coated

Towel holder finished and clear coated

My tools are a basic group, chisel, fuller and indenting tool. I don’t have a ball peen hammer, I just haven’t gotten around to buying one, so I needed something to indent with for the screws. I am experimenting with a rectangular shape. I saw someone using it a few years ago and have wanted to give it a try, so I am. I do miss my cross center punch. It made seeing the marks so much easier. Yes I actually had to make a couple of reference marks for myself to make this project work. Materials are kind of scarce here right now, so I am being judicious with the use of the good steel. I have  a couple of old files that I will make a couple of punches and a couple of curved chisels and maybe a right or left angle chisel out of. For the time being the largest stock I have is some rusty 12 mm stuff, just under a 1/2″. I reduced it to 3/8″ for the towel holder. The anvil’s quirks and lighter weight give me a work out. hahaha. The indenting tool is made from a piece of 3/4″ rebar! What a find for me, as anyone who knows me I love to use rebar for everything. In the states it was practically free for me so…. I became a lover of it. hahaha.

Tools showing the tops as purchased

Tools showing the tops as purchased

Tool edges cleaned up and ready for use

Tool edges cleaned up and ready for use

The new vice set up makes bending so much easier as we all know a good vice does. Now it is just building on the stuff that I have. I will certainly have time to develop my hand control! Well until I find enough material to make another small poor man’s hammer. hahaha.

Vise braced and mounted

Vise braced and mounted

Forge as of May 17th 2013

Forge as of May 17th 2013

I changed the location of the vise from the other side as originally planned as this leaves me more room and by rotating the anvil I can have it all in front of me just as easily as the other side. I am used to working with the anvil to the right so this is also an adjustment for me. What the heck right, change everything while I am at it and get it over with. hahaha.

Architectural or Stick Rose

Architectural or Stick Rose

I made this small architectural rose for the cousin next door as he was kind enough to run my electrical line to the shop. All I need is a little jar or vase to put it in.

If I find a piece of pipe other than the ones I am using now for bending jigs I would make one. Of course that would mean I would have to make a spring fuller or guillotine tool. hmmm, I have to get some flat stock, guillotine tools are so useful. Next month.

Having Fun out of the sun in Albania!

See ya at the Forge!!!!

Vince

Leave a comment