The Railing Project is finished!

Posted: August 11, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Hi Guys!

    I finished my railing project today and will attach it to the wall and floor tomorrow. It was an interesting project and here are the last few photos of the railing in progress and final fit check around the trap door, but first a few process photos.

Railing section with feet attached

Railing section with feet attached

Railing foot detail

Railing foot detail

Precision tools for perfect square.

Precision tools for perfect square.

Both sections attached Plumb and Square

Both sections attached Plumb and Square

Corner Newel Topper detail

Corner Newel Topper detail

Let me tell you I struggled with this topper. I would have preferred to do a nice wrap of both the newel joints, but without a torch or a standard coal forge there was no way to make it happen and look right. I tried two different other covers and decided that the joint by the handle looks fine without and after some welding and grinding magic the corner newel was ready for the topper shown here. Wife likes it and told me it is good to go!  At 2 feet you can see my magic,but at 5 feet they are invisible, except for me because it’s all I can see. hahaha. You know how that goes.

Final fit test - It is perfect!

Final fit test – It is perfect!

Another view of the final fit test.

Another view of the final fit test.

The railing is just resting against the wall right now and the wall brackets fit nice and flat as do the feet. As you can see in the picture it is nice and straight and the newels are plumb. Overall I am happy with its appearance and since I really didn’t expect to be doing this type of work with what I have in my shop right now I am pleased with the way it came out. I did manage to do some dumb things even though I drew it out, but half the time I didn’t keep the drawing available so naturally it made for minor mistakes.

On the other hand it was a good starter project for the gas forge. It made me make smaller parts and figure out how to put them together. I would have preferred a more traditional process, but with the regulator I have I cannot get to welding temperature, so that means I had to resort to more Arc welding than I ever have done on any project to date.

I do have a power supply problem that is not easily corrected and this causes my welder to operate a little under par. I did figure out the only way to get a good bead run is to preheat the rod on a scrap piece and then move to the good piece. This is even with the better ESAB rod.

As my friends will tell you I like to do projects that challenge me from time to time and this was a fun project that taught me a lot about my new shop’s limitations and processes. My next project a couple of simple Nightstands will go much smoother now.

Hope you enjoyed the project and pictures. I will post some of the new project next week.

Thanks for stopping by and as always

See ya at the Forge!

Vince

Comments
  1. alessandra gjomarkaj says:

    Very nice Vince!

  2. Nank says:

    I have been following your thread for a couple months now, all I can say is you do great work! I happened across your site by a pic of your anvil, she is beautiful! I would love to find a european anvil like that here in the states! Nank

    • Thanks for the compliment, I try. The European anvils are harder to come by in the US second hand. Keep looking around and one will turn up. By the way do you belong to any of the Blacksmithing Groups?

  3. That really came out nice. The corner topper and footers just brought it all together.

    • Thanks Pirate – I figured there was no sense in using standard deck fittings – I don’t care for the look of them on any ironwork. The topper was a compromise and I am happy with the look of it. Thanks again.

  4. Nank says:

    No, unfortunately I live in deep south Ohio, and the nearest group to me is SOFA and they are a three hour drive for me, I just recently aquired a 270# English pattern William foster anvil that I am pumped up about forging on!

    • 270# will serve you very well. The weight will make working easier. I am sure if you contact SOFA there are Blacksmiths around. SOFA 2 or 3 larger hammerin’s during the year. Depending on where you are there are groups in Indiana, Kentucky and WV. I am sure there is somebody near enough for a visit 2 or 3 times or more a year. The exchange of info is well worth looking into.
      Happy Hammerin’

Leave a Reply

