Door Knocker Completed

Posted: October 1, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Hi Guys!

        Today I finished my door knocker. I think it came out wonderfully and that is today so I imagine in 2 or 3 weeks I will be sorry I gave it away. Hahaha. You might be wondering why the extra work around the hinge pin area. The one that my friend had on his door was stolen so I made this one sufficiently sturdy that if they steal it they will have to make enough noise to wake everyone up or take the entire door with them. If they do steal it, Albania isn’t that big a country and I have pictures and this is a one of a kind hand. It is stamped with my initials and even has a matching scar to one that I have on my index finger, and the backplate is stamped as well so it will be readily identifiable. The slanted top over the hinge is to keep the rain out in addition to making it more difficult to get off. The topper is a pineapple so the house will be filled with good fortune.

Hand before veins

Hand before veins

Hand with veining

Hand with veining

Side view of finished knocker

Side view of finished knocker

Close up of decorated bolt heads

Close up of decorated bolt heads

Side view of finished knocker

Side view of finished knocker

Finished Door Knocker

Finished Door Knocker

  The red dot isn’t rust it is a reflection coming from somewhere when I took the picture. I don’t have a good exterior clear finish here and the new owners may well want to paint it a color rather than let it just form rust. I will try to get a picture of it once it is mounted on the door. For those perfectionists out there, I know the fingers are slightly longer than correct proportions and the knuckle creases are set back slightly to far. They are like that on purpose.

  This was an interesting project for me and I will have to make another  for myself, probably a hammer and anvil. Maybe a hand with a hammer, hmmm. that would be something. We will see. By that time I might have changed my idea all around. Or maybe my wife will. hahaha.

Til’ next time! See ya at the Forge!!!

Vince

Update: 8 May 2014 – My friend finally got around to mounting the door knocker – He thought is was to grand for his doorway. Not at all! He has a large double door with lots of character and I think the hand is a nice addition to it and so does he.

Door Knocker in place - not too large for the door at all

Door Knocker in place – not too large for the door at all

 

 

Comments
  1. Anthony Pirrone says:

    VERY IMAGINATIVE……..THE FACT THAT PEOPLE ARE STEALING YOUR ,”JUNK” PROVES THAT YOU ARE ,”ARRIVING”…………I HAVE NEVER SEEN A KNOCKER LIKE THAT…….ALL BEFORE WERE ALWAYS BAROQUE WITH THE BIG RING…………THE MORE BIZARRE THE MORE VALUABLE,,,,, HOW IS THE WEATHER NOW???………ARE THE DAYS CHANGING?……..I HAVE AN APPOINTMENT WITH MY QUACK THIS MORNING…….I HAVE BEEN BELOW PAR THESE DAYS……STAY TUNED……….HOW IS YOUR BRIDE MANAGING IN HER COUNTRY?…….SOMETIME A LITTLE BOUQUET OF FLOWERS BRIGHTENS THE MORNING………TONY…..FINID

    • Thanks Tony – The baroque hand is what you normally see. I don’t like to do normal stuff, They make normal stuff in china. hahaha. The weather has been nice until just yesterday. We are slowly moving into the winter rains with about 40% of the days predicted to have rain this month. November is suppose to fair better with about 30%. The temperatures have been hovering around 70. Today was the first day that it was below 70 all day. Bianca and I are doing well here. Flowers are a good thing on rainy days that is for sure. I will have to start buying them again with the garden’s flowers waning. I will send you an email with other details later on. Always good to hear from you Tony. Hope you Dr’s appoint goes well and you are feeling better.
      See ya at the forge!!
      Vince

  2. loving the look of the knocker i will have a go at making on that is a hammer instead of a hand

  3. can u tell me how to forge weld because every time i try it burns or just didnt stick together
    please help
    david

    • David you are using a coal or charcoal forge correct? Experiment first with a piece of scrap about 1/4″ thick, what’s that 7mm by the same or wider. The goal here is to pay attention to the amount of air your are using to bring it up to different colors which equal temperatures. Okay – cherry, bright read, orange, yellow, white and sparkling! Notice the change from yellow to white to sparkling. It happens fast, but it does happen. Okay. You are done with that. I recommend using 9 mm square for making your first welds and faggot welds the first few. They are easier and will teach you alot about when the flux and metal is ready. If you are using Borax as your flux, it gives off a slightly greenish hue to the fire when it is ready. It is a tell. I usually do a fast count to 10 and the piece is ready to go. Slowly heating your metal to the white heat is key. Don’t be in a hurry. We are all in a hurry and if you succumb to rushing it, it will fail to weld. Just the way it is.
      Okay faggot weld, bend metal over onto itself not so tight so the flux at bright red will flow into the crack. You can tap the piece on the anvil before putting the flux on it to remove some of the slag in the crack. Now flux is on and you put it back into the fire with the folded piece up. The bottom piece is larger and will absorb more heat and initially will provide heat to keep the piece at welding temp while you are tapping it. Tap it not smash it. Later on when you are making ship chain you can wail away, for now use a 1-1/2 lb hammer and rapidly tap, tap, tap. Okay you see some slag fly out at you tap it and the color starts to leave. Put it back in the fire. This time when you pull it out, tap, tap, tap the larger side with the smaller side down. You roll it over to ensure you have equal pressures. Do this as many times as you feel necessary to remove the weld line or your desired effect. Welds should always be forged at a welding heat, or very close to it. I usually do my forging at a bright yellow of welds. This keeps them from breaking their bond and me from burning it up. Okay, now get in the forge and confidently go where all Blacksmiths fear their fate is doomed to be cleanning slag for the master for a lifetime. hahaha. Patience and practice. A good weld needs to be coaxed along. Good Luck David. Let us know how you do!
      Vince

  4. That’s great David! Glad I was able to help you out. My latest project is actually making a new vise. My vise was a cast bench vise and I tried to bend a large piece of rebar and all those fractures from hammering gave way. I will post something as soon as I am done and now that my kayak building is done for the season I will be getting back into the forge. I have tooling and projects that I want to do and need to get back to doing some hammering. Thanks for letting me know it worked out for you.

Leave a Reply

