October 2013 wasn’t a wasted month all together

Posted: October 27, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

      So what have I been up to.  Not much I have been busy attending to my much neglected book and I am happy with the progress on that front. I did manage to make a few smaller things of original design and discover that I managed to mess up my own design. Lesson learned again… pay attention to what you are doing.  Both the coat hooks came out okay, but not the same length which is what I was after. For some reason I wrote down the wrong measurement on the second one! The shorter one is 11CM instead of the 18 CM on the body length.  I needed that measurement to be the same for both.  Oh well they are for me and now I have both processes down. These hooks keep you from getting those annoying pointy spots on the coats you hang up.

     Next up was a Fredrick’s Cross out of round bar. Came out okay and I just wanted to know that I could do the entire thing at the anvil.

       I had a nice chat with the ESAB region manager about product availability and possibly introduced him to a person that is interested in taking over this area to do provide quality welding equipment and accessories. That is sorely needed here. In a couple of years we will see if that happens.

       I also played around with making an axe with a wrapped head rather than a traditional drifted eye for a wooden handle. What did I learn, hmmm. I can do it all with hammer and anvil.

       My wife wanted some hooks to hang her robe on in the bedroom and wala here it is.

        My friend Evis stopped by and I showed him how to make a rose. He was short on time and we didn’t take a picture of the finished product, but it was a quick study with satisfactory results. Always a crowd pleaser, roses. 🙂

Without further ado:

Making a rose

Making a rose

Towel bar - notice no bunching of the towel allows it to dry completely

Towel bar – notice no bunching of the towel allows it to dry completely

Rd Bar Fredrick Crosses

Rd Bar Fredrick Crosses

Coat Hooks

Coat Hooks

My drawing board

My drawing board

DSCN1044

This is a set of hooks I made to our robes on in our bedroom.

Axe Head - mild steel test

Axe Head – mild steel test

Axe head - steel handle - wrap holding head

Axe head – steel handle – wrap holding head

Axe head detail

Axe head detail

Axe head detail 1

Axe head detail 1

Axe head Detail 2

Axe head Detail 2

Me forging a rose 2

Me forging a rose 2

Leave a Reply

