My 1st Kayak is finished!!! 4-13-14

Posted: April 13, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Vince & Mimi (5)Hi Guys,

As you know I have been working on building my first Kayak and I finished it yesterday and today my Friend Evis, his brother Florian, their Uncle and my wife Bianca and the two dogs helped with the launching of the battleship kayak. So nicknamed now because of the high sides, I thought she would have a water line of about 20 cm, but discovered that it barely has a draft of 10cm which is less than 4 inches. Oooppppssssie! for all the gory details open the pdf attachment and it will take you from start to finish.

 

My Kayak is completed 1

 

Okay I know that the shape looks a little more like a canoe than a kayak because of the high sides. The bottom does have a curve from bow to stern so give me that. I hope to incorporate all the things I learned here into my next one that I will be starting on this coming Tuesday or Wednesday so my friend Evis and I will be off to the lakes and rivers of Albania as the season is ready to begin here! Yahoo!

I have posted a few videos to my facebook page if you are interested.

Thanks for stopping by!

See ya at the forge soon!!!

Vince

 

 

Comments
  1. That looks like a blast!

  2. anitachowdry says:

    Hi – thanks for the likes on your recent visit to my blog – I can see why you have been busy for so long. Congratulations on the kayak – what joy!

Leave a Reply

