2nd Kayak has been Launched

Posted: April 27, 2014 in Uncategorized

Hi Guys,

Evis’ kayak has been officially launched today! We set sail on Lake Koman the same spot we tested mine and once again we did not encounter any leaks or problems with his kayak.

This didn't happen to us. This can be found in shark images as shark7 - unkown photographer

This didn’t happen to us.
This can be found in shark images as shark7 – unkown photographer

Just where is the Lake Koman monster? ukn - artist

Just where is the Lake Koman monster?
ukn – artist

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We were hoping to discover the Lake Koman Monster, but it appears he was not around today.

Evis setting up to launch

Evis setting up to launch

No Tugs available here

No Tugs available here

We are going now Vince

We are going now Vince

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We put in the water just before 1000 and Evis’ brother and nephew showed up around 1230. It was time for a break so we returned to our launch site. Florian (Evis’ brother) tried out the new kayak and was happy with the results even if it was a bit too small for him. He even has his son give it a whorl. Not really, but he had a good time splashing the water with the paddle while Florian held on to him. We did have the Battleship kayak on hand to chase him down if he got away though. Hahaha.

Evis' brother and his son enjoying the new kayak.

Evis’ brother and his son enjoying the new kayak.

Florian and his son departed and we took a ride to the other side of the lake in the opposite direction which brings me to the conclusion that I am working entirely too hard in my kayak. I decide to try using the stern for the bow. Now many of you might know that my nimbler days are over, I didn’t so when I tried to turn around without holding onto both sides, or just rotating my legs over the side, there was a webble here and a wobble there and I had to make the decision to jump in or flip my kayak. I remembered my camera was on board and only protected with a plastic bag so any chance of trying to right myself was gone and so off I went into the deep waters of Lake Koman. Hahaha. That’ll teach me. The water was chilly, but with the PFD on it wasn’t really cold and I had my phone wrapped tight in a plastic bag so I pulled it out of my PFD pocket and put it on the boat. I was close to shore and could touch the bottom so I just walked over and hopped back in, putting the stern ahead of me. There is a restaurant on the shore and the owners young son was watching the entire encounter. I made sure to give him a big wave and smile so that he knew this was part of the fun of kayaking!
In case you haven’t been following the kayak build adventure, my stern is flat due to my design miscalculation and as it turns out I needed to be sitting further back than I already am as my stern has more displacement than my bow. This means my bow tends to be deeper than the stern, reversed my stern has about a two finger space of air before it touches the water. What a difference, I can really move out with this arrangement. I was beginning to think I was older than I am. Hahaha.

So until I get around to building a new one that is the way I will be kayaking from now on. Unless I find me one of those electric trolling motors and attach it to the rear. Hahaha. Look out Evis!

Evis with the just skinned beauty

Evis with the just skinned beauty

Me with my official kayaking hat and Evis' Kayak just skinned 4-25-14

Me with my official kayaking hat and Evis’ Kayak just skinned
4-25-14

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We both got in about 3 – 3-1/2 hours on the water and finished it off with a nice lunch at Perla Restaurant. We (Bianca and I) have eaten here several times now and have never been disappointed and that was true today. We recounted our kayaking travels and enjoyed the meal and a couple of beers. Yahoo! A Terrific day and Evis is now officially addicted to kayaking. 

Look out I have got my rhythm going now

Look out I have got my rhythm going now

Perla Restaurant

Perla Restaurant

Merrily, Merrily, Merrily we row, row, row

Merrily, Merrily, Merrily we row, row, row

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I got home and looked at the photos I found that I had a rainbow effect off the water. I always think of rainbows as  a bonus no matter how you come upon them.

We didn't find the gold, but we had a great time!

We didn’t find the gold, but we had a great time!

 

We had a great day and that is what really matters –

This week I have to clean up my shop – reorganize it since I expanded it into the garage next door. That was always the plan, but I kept putting it off so for now I will leave it roughed out so I can get the shop back together. Did I mention that I broke the finest cast vise that China has to offer last week bending a pc of rebar cold. I am hoping to find an old one for sale at the tool repair shop.

My next post will be about blacksmithing!

 

Thanks for stopping by! See ya at the Forge!!!

Vince

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Looks like a wonderful day and congrats on your kayaks. Was the rainbow from a drop of water on your lens?

Leave a Reply

