2014 ABANA Conference Amigos

Posted: August 26, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Hello All,
It has been a while and I know many of you see my posts on Facebook as well, but for those that don’t I wanted to take this opportunity to tell you of the great time I had at the ABANA Conference 13-16 August. Marvelous time. The Demonstrators were as wide a variety as you can have and all were doing something really special for the conference. Everything was well thought out and executed by the Committee and the Volunteers. Big Thanks to All of them. Even the Conference program was well thought out, spiral bound, schedules, demonstrators bios, a few bits of blacksmith info and lined and graph paper for note taking. Perfect. I saw many taking advantage of them. So, it was time and money well spent as a conference and of course there is the added bonus that I was able to spend time with most of my friends from VAB that I haven’t seen in almost 2 years, literally I haven’t talked that much in 2 years and had a sore throat the entire time. I also got to meet several of my Facebook friends in person. There were lots more people who I should have met, but they were in my opinion overwhelmed by the crowds as demonstrators or simply too busy and I know how these events go, everyone wants a piece of everyone, so I missed probably more than a few. I can only hope they aren’t put off. Again the Conference was great! 2016 is going to be in Salt Lake City and planning will begin in earnest shortly, if you can volunteer for the committee let them know. It takes a lot of work and if they have enough hands then the burden isn’t so large on each.
Okay there’s me review and pitch for the ABANA conference. Here are a few photos of my friends and me.

Eric's trailer - camping as rough as I want it to be.

Eric’s trailer – camping as rough as I want it to be.

Me striking for Joe and his workmate

Me striking for Joe and his workmate

Me pointing out my nail.

Me pointing out my nail.

Joe at one of the workshops.

Joe at one of the workshops.

Matt likes the Fisher & Norris display

Matt likes the Fisher & Norris display

Joe pointing out his nail.

Joe pointing out his nail.

Bear, Donnie and Joe

Bear, Donnie and Joe

Everyone's happy we are in the Sat night dinner line. Matt, Joe (head), BobO and Eric.

Everyone’s happy we are in the Sat night dinner line. Matt, Joe (head), BobO and Eric.

I told you there they gave you a good portion Matt. I don't know BobO, maybe just a few more fries.

I told you there they gave you a good portion Matt. I don’t know BobO, maybe just a few more fries.

Do we really have to stay here and listen to this Joe?

Do we really have to stay here and listen to this Joe?

I've been training with Albanian women at the market. hahaha

I’ve been training with Albanian women at the market. hahaha

We know who to call next time Matt.

We know who to call next time Matt.

Eric's trailer - camping as rough as I want it to be.

Eric’s trailer – camping as rough as I want it to be.

Next post I will post some pics of the gallery and demo tents. Then it will be back to my mandolin building now that I have the tuners, strings and picks that I need.  Don’t worry eventually I will get back to doing some blacksmithing, I brought some files and hammers back with me and I have a few projects already lined up.

See ya at the Forge!!!

 

Leave a Reply

