Kayak Frame Work

Posted: July 27, 2015 in Uncategorized

Okay, I know I have been away again for a while and still not doing any blacksmithing! Currently I am working on my new kayak. I have it all framed out and have to go pick up the skin material tomorrow or the next day.

This time around I wanted to try to go about as light as I can and still stay afloat. The frame is 11 ft long x 26 inches wide at its widest point. The cockpit is about 19.5 inches x 36 inches. I didn’t both making what seems to be the conventional oval opening, again. The square is easier for me to get in and out of. Once I get her all tested and trimmed out I will make a cover for the opening and use Velcro to keep it in place. This makes the only thing that gets wet in the cooler months is my feet and legs, but a towel takes care of that once in the kayak. 🙂 I decided to tie the frame together this time. I am using what the locals use to repair or make fishing nets out of. To me it is sort of a mason line. The store had carried a braided flat line, but he said he couldn’t get that anymore. bummer, it was very nice and laid very flat. Oh well.

Frames laid on keel.

Frames laid on keel.

Bow attached to keel

Bow attached to keel

I asked my local supplier for cedar, but all I was able to get after a week of haggling was pine. Okay, it is a bit heavier, but it will work. I cut the keel and stringers out of it. I picked two boards with the least amount of knots and imperfections that he had. I reinforced the few short grain and knot areas will a backer of plywood or this casing board I had left over from another project. Both are fairly strong.

Stern attached and stringers prepped

Stern attached and stringers prepped

The plywood for this kayak has me concerned. I used something like 12mm luan, which had no voids and has held up very nicely on the other two. This plywood was about 5/8 or 16mm(?) thick, when I ordered it, it was supposed to be for exterior work. I do not believe this is exterior grade, okay I know it isn’t. I looked it over and it looked nice along the edges, no voids, not splintered off or delaminating. I took it. After cutting it I found that in the middle it has tons of voids and the saw peeling off the top ply. The board wasn’t particularly expensive, but I decided to go ahead and use it anyway for many reasons that in the end don’t matter. What does is that I reinforced and filled the edges of the plywood with glue and sawdust mixes and then clear coated it with what the can from Greece clearly says is a varnish for boats. It has a picture and everything with English instructions. Time will tell if I made a mistake. If so, well it will be back to the shop and a few more lessons learned.

Stern tied and stringers trimmed

Stern tied and stringers trimmed

Bow stringers not trimmed

Bow stringers not trimmed

Frame ready to fit for seat position

Frame ready to fit for seat position

Cockpit framed in and seat set

Cockpit framed in and seat set

Foot rest

Foot rest

I decided to go on a center rail with foot rest. It is simple and adjustable, though I doubt I will need to adjust it much once I set it for me, but you never know

This is my basic frame work. I will do another post of the completed frame coated and the skinning of it. I have no idea why these pictures keep turning on wordpress. I have loaded and reloaded, resaved them to get rid of a any coding on my computer and they are still being turned. I apologize and will work on this problem. Anyone have a solution please let me know.

Thanks for stopping by!

See ya at the Forge!!!

Vince

Comments
  1. Anthony Pirrone says:

    *VINCE, I GIVE YOU A TEN!!!!!!…..YOU HAVE IMPROVED SO MUCH THAT I THINK YOU SHOULD CONCENTRATE MORE ON SHIP BUILDING…….YOUR PICTURES LOOK JUST LIKE THE FUSELAGE OF AN AIRPLANE!!!!!!!!……NO SHIT, YOU ARE REALLY A PRO!!!!…..I CAN SEE THAT EVEN WITH MY ONLY ONE EYE!!!………..TONY.*

Leave a Reply

