New Vise for my Vice

Posted: October 4, 2015 in Uncategorized

Hi Guys,
Long time again – no excuses, no promises –

I picked up a new bench vise that I mounted and will use as my main vise. My homemade one has a very slight twist to it that without redoing the entire vise won’t go away. Sooo this will fit most of my needs and I moved the old one to the other side of the forge for grinding and banging other work. If it turns out that I don’t use it I can always repurpose the metal from it in a couple of years. 🙂

The new vise has a open frame that allows me to hang my tongs and hammers. It is close enough to use with both the gas and charcoal forge. The anvil can be moved to make it easier to work depending on what I am doing.

Stand and frame

Stand and frame

2015-10-02 11.23.05

New Vise

2015-10-02 11.23.15

Old vise new location, one vise on each side of forge now.

So the shop is still evolving. My next project is well underway and is another chess set. Smaller and I think less complicated than the last one, but we will see, sometimes those simple designs are more difficult than you think.

So the shop is still evolving, for now….

See ya at the Forge!!!!

Vince

Leave a Reply

