Santa’s Elf

Posted: December 23, 2015 in Uncategorized

HoHoHo,

Santa needed a hand with a few last minute Christmas items. 🙂  I thought I was out of the Crucifix business, but had another to make for a friend this year, I wish I had made the eye punch for it now. I didn’t have the time now, as usual and will have to put it on my list of tools to make after New Years as well as a curved rib fuller and a fuller to define the stomach from the ribs better. Just in case. 🙂

Then my wife asked me to make a candle holder for a couple of friends. I decided to make a Dogwood branch and use a wooden base. I did’t have a piece of steel wide enough to mount it to and have candle pots. Wood is good!

The flowers are riveted on to the stems, but, dare I say it, I can hear the shoe dropping already, welded them to the branch.  I still have heat problems and will get around to addressing them after the new year. The students want to see real forge welding so I am forced to finally do something about it.
I decided to just use a nail for the candle stem. The wood is a piece of Chestnut somewhere between 150 to 350 years old. I am not sure which section of the house this came from. I have to get candles tomorrow.
I am almost done, I still have one more if I can get it done tomorrow, Christmas Eve.

2015-12-23 16.06.31

I will post a few photos of the hammer my students made when FJ finishes his handle. Until then….

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!!

Vince & Bianca!

Leave a comment